26 February 2023 | General

A clean-sweep for James Moffat at AWC Race Tasmania

Valvoline LMCT+ GRM’s James Moffat has completed the clean-sweep and a Garry Rogers Motorsport lockout of the round podium.

Moffat again dominated, leading from start-to-finish in the final to lead Lochie Dalton and Jaylyn Robotham in the final race.

It was a frantic start to the final race at AWS Race Tasmania as Moffat continued to lead, but the hairpin continued to be a hotspot.

The TPS Group/Breeze Holiday Parks Chevrolet Camaro of Brett Holdsworth had its rear wheels lifted up courtesy of a concertina effect from the field behind. Resulting damage hurt local Adam Garwood, who was forced to pit the Dream Racing Australia Dodge Challenger.

Still leading a Garry Rogers Motorsport 1-2-3, Moffat was building a margin to Owen Kelly until the latter spun off at the final corner elevating Dalton to second, who had Robotham in the Bushwakka/The Racing Academy Ford Mustang for company.

Holdsworth was still maintaining fourth despite his opening lap dramas from the impressive and improving Tyler Everingham in his first start driving the Dream Racing Australia Chevrolet Camaro.

Behind the Sydney Property Care GRM Mustang of Edan Thornburrow in sixth was Cody Gillis for The Racing Academy in what was a strong result from Tom Hayman, who climbed nine positions from the back of the grid.

Kelly was on the recovery trail behind battling NAPA Auto Parts driver Jett Johnson and Elliot Barbour in the Pioneer DJ Chevrolet Camaro, who also spun.

All these drivers moved up a position following a suspension problem for Everingham exiting Turn 3 forcing him to stop and a safety car was called.

Moffat made the perfect restart as Kelly was on a charge to sixth ahead of Gillis and Hayman, but for the West Australian rookie he was caught up in an incident with Thornburrow as the pair alongside Barbour were caught out at the hairpin.

Kelly wasn’t finished as he took Holdsworth for fourth on the last lap, who in turn dropped to sixth as Hayman stole fifth on the line.

Johnson, Dream Racing Australia’s Josh Webster, Masters Cup winner John Holinger and Craig Scutella rounded out the top 10.

The next round of the Supercheap Auto National Trans Am Series is at the Shannons SpeedSeries round at Phillip Island on May 12-14.

POST-EVENT NOTE: Following post-race investigations, Owen Kelly received a five second penalty for an incident with Brett Holdsworth that put him down to seventh. The result has changed the podium results for the round, with Kelly dropping from second to fourth, elevating Lachie Dalton to second overall and Jaylyn Robotham to third overall.