7 January 2023 | General

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia’s Golden Drivers in Tasmania

Across six races in two years at AWC Race Tasmania, there have been nine different drivers grace the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series podium in Symmons Plains Raceway.

The list includes stars such as series champions Chaz Mostert and Tony D’Alberto, but there is one man who has claimed more podiums than any other around the 2.4km bullring.

Four different drivers have won TCR races at Symmons Plains, with just one star able to take multiple race victories around the unpredictable track.

Here is a look at those who have been the most successful at the Tasmanian circuit.

Five podiums – Jordan Cox
Jordan Cox may have become a cult hero thanks to his Improved Production heroics at Bathurst, but his exploits in Tasmania are mightily impressive. Only once has Cox missed out on a podium at Race Tasmania, with three race wins to his name – two in 2021 and one in 2022, along with one appearance each on the lower steps of the podium. Is he the early 2023 Symmons Plains favourite?

Three podiums – Lee Holdsworth
Lee Holdsworth’s sole year in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia got off to the best possible start when he won the opening race in 2021. The wily veteran then followed up with a second and a third in the next two races aboard his Ash Seward Motorsport-prepared Alfa Romeo Giulietta.

Two podiums – Tony D’Alberto, Jay Hanson, Chaz Mostert
Tony D’Alberto’s 2022 series champion started his campaign on the front foot last year. A third place finish in Race 2 translated to a runner up result in the final race of the weekend. Will we see the eventual 2023 champion on the podium at Race Tasmania this year? As for the youngest driver in the paddock, Jay Hanson seems to enjoy the opening race of the weekend, third place in 2021 and a victory in 2022. Mostert’s incredible 2021 season got off to a flyer in Tassie, picking up a third place and a second place finish that weekend.

One podium – Bailey Sweeny, Josh Buchan, Nathan Morcom, Zac Soutar
The HMO Customer Racing  trio looked strong on the Apple Isle in 2022. Buchan and Morcom finished second and third in the opening race, before Sweeny earned his maiden podium in just his second race with a runner up finish on the Sunday. As for Soutar, he took his Honda Civic Type R all the way to the top step of the podium in Race 3 last year.

Who will add their name to the AWC Race Tasmania honours board in 2023? Be there to find out from February 24-26.

CLICK HERE to secure your tickets to AWC Race Tasmania