4 January 2023 | General

Aussies well represented in end of season TCR World Rankings

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series drivers feature highly in the TCR World Rankings as 2022 drew to a close.

Launched in October, the TCR World Rankings compile stats from each championship representing the regulations globally and Australian drivers have always featured prominently.

When first released, it was Swyftx GRM driver Jordan Cox ranked as lead Australian in 10th ahead of Tony D’Alberto for Honda Wall Racing in 15th.

Fully updated ahead of the new calendar year and competition completed the final rankings are in with newly crowned Supercheap Auto TCR Australia winner D’Alberto leading the way in 22nd from Cox in 24th and series runner up Will Brown in 25th.

Debuting the new to Australia Hyundai Elantra N TCR at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International, Josh Buchan sits in 30th.

Closely ranked are Team Valvoline GRM’s Aaron Cameron, Jay Hanson of Melbourne Performance Centre and Schaeffler GRM Peugeot driver Dylan O’Keeffe filling positions 50 to 52.

Following a stunning weekend at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International, HMO Customer Racing rookie Bailey Sweeny sits 56th ahead of star rookie Zac Soutar in 60th and Ben Bargwanna placed 70th.

Rounding out the Aussies featured in the top 100, Nathan Morcom is 84th, Luke King sits 92nd and Michael Caruso in 100th.

The TCR World Rankings will play an important part at the end of next year as the top 45 in these on September 30 will qualify for the TCR World Final, joined by the top 15 in the new TCR World Tour set to feature two rounds in Australia.

Also announced prior to the new calendar was the TCR Model of the Year, which went to the Audi RS3 LMS.

Among the Audi’s achievements this season it took 76 wins from 313 races globally and secured not only the highly competitive TCR Europe title, but also Gold at the FIA Motorsport Games courtesy of Dutchman Tom Coronel.

One new specification Audi contested Supercheap Auto TCR Australia courtesy of MPC’s Hanson as he achieved three pole positions and four victories to place inside the title top 10.

“Competition for the TCR Model of the Year is fiercer every season,” WSC president Marcello Lotti said. “The 2022 season has seen a thrilling fight between the Audi RS 3 LMS and the and Honda Civic Type R that was decided by the very last results. Winning this accolade three times in five years is therefore a truly remarkable achievement.

“Audi Sport is one of the brands that have embraced the TCR concept from the very start, and their RS 3 LMS TCR has proved to be one of the most competitive cars in the category, helping customer teams to achieve great results.”

The competition is set to heat up this year as JAS Motorsport recently released the new Honda Civic Type R TCR (the previous model a two-time winner of the award) and the Toyota Gazoo Racing Argentina developed Toyota Corolla GRS TCR set to roll out as a customer package for the first time in the upcoming TCR South America season.

Get your tickets for the opening round of Supercheap Auto TCR Australia at AWC Race Tasmania on February 24-26 HERE.

Or don’t miss Stan Sport’s live, uninterrupted and on-demand coverage of the SpeedSeries, which also includes expanded free to air coverage in 2023.