11 February 2022 | General

Zac Soutar ends the opening day of AWC Race Tasmania fastest

Privateer Honda driver Zac Soutar has finished the opening day of the season for Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series on top of the timesheets.

The Spicers Australia Honda Civic Type R TCR finished the session on a 55.4522s, 0.0289s ahead of Garry Rogers Motorsport LMCT+ driver James Moffat in the sole remaining Renault Megane R.S. TCR.

To keep updated with TCR Australia like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

Rounding out the top three was the GRM Schaeffler Peugeot 308 TCR driven by Dylan O’Keeffe, just 0.0317s behind the pacesetter.

Stan Sport Wall Racing’s Fabian Coulthard made it two Hondas in the top five by finishing fourth as drivers of the Japanese marque experienced the reverse fortunes of last year.

Completing the first quintet was fastest driver in opening practice, LIQUI MOLY MPC’s Will Brown in the lone Audi RS3 LMS TCR in the top 10.

GRM’s Jordan Cox was next in the team’s second Peugeot 308 TCR ahead of HMO Customer Racing’s Nathan Morcom, who again led the three-car attack as Honda Wall Racing’s Tony D’Alberto in a demonstration of improved speed.

HMO Customer Racing duo Josh Buchan and Bailey Sweeny rounded out the top 10 in a session where the first 16 were covered by less than a second in what promises to be an exciting contest.

The only team to experience troubles during the session was the sole Ashley Seward Motorsport entry of Michael Caruso with a power steering problem.

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series drivers and teams now turn focus to tomorrow’s two-part qualifying at 2:25pm AEDT before the opening race at 4:25pm AEDT.

Catch all the action live and uninterrupted on Stan Sport.


Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 0:55.4522
2 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 0:55.4811 0:00.0289
3 8 Schaeffler GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Peugeot 308 TCR 0:55.4839 0:00.0317
4 24 Stan Sport Wall Racing Fabian Coulthard Honda Civic Type R 0:55.4996 0:00.0474
5 999 MPC Team LIQUI MOLY William Brown Audi RS 3 0:55.5838 0:00.1316
6 33 Swyftx GRM Jordan Cox Renault Megane RS 0:55.6214 0:00.1692
7 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 0:55.6226 0:00.1704
8 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 0:55.6574 0:00.2052
9 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 0:55.7042 0:00.2520
10 130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny Hyundai i30N 0:55.8600 0:00.4078
11 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 0:55.8683 0:00.4161
12 333 Royal Purple Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 0:55.9390 0:00.4868
13 9 AWC MPC Racing Jay Hanson Audi RS 3 0:56.0304 0:00.5782
14 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 0:56.0511 0:00.5989
15 97 Forza Brakes Motorsport Liam McAdam Audi RS 3 0:56.0973 0:00.6451
16 14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff Volkswagen Golf GTI 0:56.2543 0:00.8021
17 89 Braydan Willmington M’Sport Braydan Willmington Alfa Romeo Giulietta 0:56.6487 0:01.1965
18 44 Melbourne Performance Centre Eddie Maguire Volkswagen Golf GTI 0:57.2066 0:01.7544
19 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1:00.6551 0:05.2029