11 February 2022 | General

Debutant Kody Garland crashes as Will Brown goes fastest in opening practice

Garry Rogers Motorsport Team Valvoline driver Kody Garland has crashed during opening practice causing severe damage to his Renault Megane R.S. TCR ahead of this weekend’s AWC Race Tasmania.

Garland’s incident occurred on the back sweeper at Symmons Plains Raceway and necessitated the session to be stopped for 15-minutes as crews worked to recover the stricken Renault.

To keep updated with TCR Australia like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

The rookie emerged from the incident ok, though disappointed.

“Not what we wanted at all,” Garland said post-incident.

“I’m devastated for the team; they’ve put on such a great and for something like that to happen it’s not what we want.

“It was just a mistake on my part, I made contact with the wall and was a passenger from there.

“I’m pretty upset with myself on that one.

“It doesn’t look good right now, but we’ll see what we can work out.”

GRM is currently assessing the damage before making a decision on contesting the action at AWC Race Tasmanian this weekend.

The session resumed with Honda Wall Racing’s Tony D’Alberto on top after a limited number of drivers managed to achieve a time.

However, in a closely fought battle at the top it was LIQUI MOLY MPC’s Will Brown on top clocking a 55.7197s time to finish 0.0962s clear of fellow Audi driver and privateer Liam McAdam.

Garland’s Renault teammate James Moffat was third ahead of Jay Hanson in his new latest specification Audi RS3 LMS TCR, while Ashley Seward Motorsport’s Michael Caruso overcame a wiring problem in his Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR to be placed fifth.

Rounding out the top 10 were the lead HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30N TCR of Nathan Morcom, D’Alberto, rookie Bailey Sweeny in another HMO Customer Racing Hyundai, the Garry Rogers Motorsport Peugeot of Jordan Cox and Team Valvoline GRM’s Aaron Cameron.

On his category debut, Fabian Coulthard finished 13th in the Stan Sport Wall Racing Honda Civic Type R TCR.

Practice 2 will be held at 2:15pm AEDT. Keep up to date on all the action via the TCR Australia website.


Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 999 MPC Team LIQUI MOLY William Brown Audi RS 3 0:55.7197
2 97 Forza Brakes Motorsport Liam McAdam Audi RS 3 0:55.8159 0:00.0962
3 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 0:55.9411 0:00.2214
4 9 AWC MPC Racing Jay Hanson Audi RS 3 0:55.9584 0:00.2387
5 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 0:55.9826 0:00.2629
6 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 0:56.0874 0:00.3677
7 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 0:56.0974 0:00.3777
8 130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny Hyundai i30N 0:56.3029 0:00.5832
9 33 Swyftx GRM Jordan Cox Renault Megane RS 0:56.3232 0:00.6035
10 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 0:56.3724 0:00.6527
11 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 0:56.3968 0:00.6771
12 333 Royal Purple Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 0:56.4135 0:00.6938
13 24 Stan Sport Wall Racing Fabian Coulthard Honda Civic Type R 0:56.4189 0:00.6992
14 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 0:56.4288 0:00.7091
15 8 Schaeffler GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Peugeot 308 TCR 0:56.4938 0:00.7741
16 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 0:56.6815 0:00.9618
17 14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff Volkswagen Golf GTI 0:56.8188 0:01.0991
18 44 Melbourne Performance Centre Eddie Maguire Volkswagen Golf GTI 0:57.2394 0:01.5197
19 89 Braydan Willmington M’Sport Braydan Willmington Alfa Romeo Giulietta 0:57.9524 0:02.2327
20 41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland Renault Megane RS